Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
About Us
Share |

Your Connection After Competition! 

The Iowa State Letterwinners Club is comprised of individuals who have earned the University's varsity athletic insignia for their athletic or team support endeavors or who have been Honorary recipients. 

The Iowa State Letterwinners Club provides its members the opportunity to foster and maintain relationships across different sports, generations and geographical locations. Through a strong membership, we are able to champion an environment for excellence in both competition and in the classroom. As an integral part of the Cyclone family, the Iowa State Letterwinners Club is proud to be a connection after competition for all Cyclone athletic alumni.


History of how we became the Cyclones

The "Cyclones" name dates back to 1895. That year, Iowa suffered an unusually high number of devastating cyclones (as tornadoes were called at the time). In September, the football team from what was then Iowa Agricultural College traveled to Northwestern University and defeated that team by a score of 36-0. The next day, the Chicago Tribune's headline read "Struck by a Cyclone: It Comes from Iowa and Devastates Evanston Town."[2] The article began, "Northwestern might as well have tried to play football with an Iowa cyclone as with the Iowa team it met yesterday." The nickname stuck.


Listed below are Iowa State's 20 varsity sports and the years they achieved varsity status.

1890 - Men's Track & Field 
 1970 - Women's Swimming & Diving    
1892 - Baseball (ended 2001)
 1971 - Women's Golf
1892 - Football 
 1971 - Softball
1907 - Men's Basketball
 1973 - Women's Basketball 
1909 - Men’s Cross Country       
 1973 - Women's Gymnastics
1911 - Men's Tennis (ended 1995)
 1973 - Women's Tennis
1916 - Men’s Swimming & Diving (ended 2001) 
 1973 - Women's Track & Field
1916 - Wrestling
 1975 - Women's Cross Country 
1930 - Men's Golf  
 1977 - Women's Volleyball
1963 - Men's Gymnastics (ended 1995)
 1995 - Women’s Soccer